Workshop on Comprehensive School Safety Program

Kerala State Disaster Management Authority & UNICEF Department of General Education

District: Alappuzha & Ernakulam

Venue: District Planning Office, Alappuzha Date: 1st February 2020



Report

As part of the Comprehensive School Safety programme under KSDMA- UNICEF partnership, it was decided to conduct regional training programmes on School Safety at the district level. A total of 200 schools in 14 districts have been selected for the training programme based on the multi hazard zones and 2018 flood affected area. The regional training program on school safety for the Alappuzha and Idukki Districts was conducted on **Saturday, the 1st of February 2020 at District Planning Office, Alappuzha**. The Education department officials and teachers of **Alappuzha and Ernakulam districts** participated. The DDE of Alappuzha district, the DEOs and AEOs of the two districts participated in the training apart from the Headmaster, the focal point teacher of the selected schools. A total of 122 participants attended.

The programme was supposed to be inaugurated by the District Collector. But due to some immediate assignments, she was not able to attend the meeting. Dr. K B Valsalakumari, Former Principal Secretary, Revenue and Disaster Management and Consultant DRR – UNICEF delivered the introductory remarks. Alappuzha DDE delivered felicitations and stressed the need for having school safety action plans in all schools of the district.







The introductory session was followed by a lecture on the Overview of disasters, governance mechanism, legal framework by Dr K B Valsalakumari and a session on School safety, School safety action plan and the roles and responsibilities of different stake holders in school safety activities by Mr. Sinoj Xavier, District programme coordinator, Sphere India. Participants asked questions and clarified their doubts and raised their concerns in the Q & A time which followed.

Everybody actively participated in the sessions clearing their doubts about the implementation of school safety programmes and about the disaster response operations during the floods.

In the post lunch session, participants were divided into 10 groups and were given an exercise wherein each group was given the map of a school with the building plan and they were asked to draw the evacuation route. Most of the groups resulted in submitting and presenting an evacuation route without an assembly point. Dr Valsalakumari reiterated the fact that in all activities related to safer schools, children should be given higher priority. This was followed by an activity where in school safety plan templates submitted by them were reviewed in groups. They shared their concerns and pointed out the mistakes in the submitted reports.





The participants were then asked to write down their evaluation of the workshop. Most of them rated the training as good and very good. In the feedback session some of the teachers pointed out the importance of conducting continuing programmes in order to disseminate the relevance of school safety programmes. Some of them stressed the importance of giving awareness to the LSG representatives, Parent teacher association members etc. More people than we expected attended the workshop and decided to continue the process of building safe school environs.

Partici	pants		
SI No	Name	Designation	Institution/Office
1	Sajichandran R	Clerk	DEO Mavelikkara
	D Kiran	нм	Panchayat HS, Pathiyoor
3	Paulose T	VI(Agri.)	GVHSS East Marady, Muvattupuzha
4	P Sarngan	HM	Govt. HS Kuttippuram
	Bindu Gopi	AEO	Vypin, Ernakkulam
	Vaheeda KA	AEO	Mattancherry, Ernakulam
7	Eldho Paul	Sr. Clerk	AEO Kolencherry
8	Padmakumari E	DEO	Muvattupuzha
9	N Sujaya	DEO	Cherthala
10	Rafeek PM	for HM	GHSS Chengamanad
11	Manij Kumar S	Clerk	AEO Mancompu
12	Geetha G	UPST	GMHS Ambalappuzha
13	Sara V K	НМ	GHS Koduppunna
14	Sojan K S	Sr. Clerk	AEO Kothamangalam
15	Sita M K	НМ	GHSS Chovvara
16	Mini PB	НМ	GHS West Kadungallur
17	Shila Parapurath	AEO	Aluva
18	Bindu C S	НМ	GHSS Manjapra
19	Rahul Salandan	Clerk	AEO Piravom
20	Pushpa Kumar	НМ	GHSS Puliyoor
21	Shaji V M	НМ	ATGVHS Mancompu
22	Thomas Mathew	НМ	GVHSS Thalavady
23	Althaf Yousuf	Clerk	DEO Kothamangalam
24	Santhosh Kumar S	DEO	Kollam
25	Shajahan A	AEO	Chadayamangalam
26	R Unnikrishnan	AEO	Punalur
27	Leelamma K P	НМ	GHS Kuttamassery
28	Geethakumari P	Clerk	DEO, Ernakulam
29	Bobby George	AEO	Mancompu
30	Vineeth T P	Clerk	AEO Vypin
31	Saifudeen Musaliar R M	JS	DEO Kottarakkara
32	Shaji V	НМ	ATGVHS Mancompu
33	Ratheesh V	Sr. Clerk	AFO Kulakkada
34	Anilkumar P	НМ	GHS Thathappilly
35	Satheesh Kumar	Clerk	AEO Chadayamangalam
36	Vinodkumar K C	Clerk	AEO Punalur
37	N Bhamini	AEO	Thalavady
38	Sujatha P	DEO	Mavelikkara
39	Jalajamony Amma M J	НМ	GVHSS Eravankara
40	Sheela T	DDE	Kollam
41	Vijayamma A	DEO	Punalur
42	Shaji S	AEO	Veliyam
43	Joykutty E	AEO	Sasthamangalam
44	P Dileep	AEO	Anchal
45	S Dileepkumar	Sr. Clerk	DDE Kollam
46	Athira S	Clerk	AEO Angamaly
47	Daya Vyasan	Clerk	DEO Aluva
48	Sharmila Tony	НМ	GVHSS Kadamakudy

49	Madhava Sarma E	НМ	GHSS Ala
50	Thomas Mathew	НМ	GVHSS Thalavady
51	Binu K P	LPST	GHSS Ooramana Ernakulam
52	Benoy S	Sr. Clerk	AEO N.Paravoor
53	Nissy P mathew	Clerk	AEO Koothattukulam
54	Swapna T G	Clerk	AEO Mattancherry
55	Ambily M R	Clerk	AEO Muvattupuzha
56	Sheela M Paulose	DEO	Kothamangalam
57	Seenumol P S	HSST	Govt. Muhammadins Boys HSS, Alpy
58	Sreelekha K	HST	GHSS Thaneermukkom
59	Dhanya K R	HST	GHSS Elankunnappuzha
60	Sreelekha C J	AEO	Angamaly
61	Geethamma P	HST	GHSS Kidangara
62	Bibi M Bose	UPST	GHSS Elankunnappuzha
63	Raji R rajan	Clerk	AEO Thalavady
64	Sreelekshmi V	Clerk	DEO Kuttanad
65	Kavyasree S	Clerk	AEO Harippad
66	Indu A	Clerk	DEO Cherthala
67	Vijaya R	AEO	Muvattupuzha
68	Leena K V	DDE	Ernakulam
69	Manu A C	AEO	Kalloorkad
70	Ajith Prasad Thampi	AEO	Thrippunithura
71	Sreeraj P I	Sr. Clerk	Thrippunithura
72	Prebha K S	HST	GVHSS Mulakkuzha
73	Nelson L	HST	GHSS Perungalam
74	Sibiraj P	Sr. Clerk	Thrippunithura
75	Shyk V R	DEO	Alappuzha
76	Lijisree K L	HSST	GHSS Puliyanam
77	Noorjihan P S	НМ	Govt SKT HS
	Shaini D	НМ	GHSS Veeyapuram
79	George Thomas	AEO	Koothattukulam
80	Girijakumary T	НМ	GHSS Ramapuram
81	Latha K N	AEO	N Paravoor
82	Lalitha K K	DEO	Ernakulam
83	Rema V	AEO	Perumbavoor
	Joji T J	Clerk	DEO Muvattupuzha
85	K P Suresh	Sr. Clerk	AEO Perumbavoor
	Rajesh R	Sr. Clerk	AEO Ernakulam
	T Kunjumon	НМ	GHSS Paravoor
88	Vimal Raj A R	Sr. Clerk	AEO Anchal
89	D V Krishnamohan	Clerk	AEO office
90	P V Anto	P P Teacher	GHSS Mammalassery
	Sreeja Gopinath	НМ	GHSS Thodiyoor
92	Hussain M	AEO	Kayankulam
	Regimon V U	VI(Electronics)	
	Shyni V	нм	KKKPSGHS Karumady
95	Jayasree P L	HST	GHS Thiruvanvandoor
	M Mohamed Yasar	Clerk	DEO Kollam
97	Joseph K C	UPST	GHS Thekkekkara
98	Rajani R	HST	GHS Budhanoor

99	Syamlal P	UPSA	GHS Mannanur
100	Mathew K P	Clerk	DDE Alappuzha
101	M Rajendra Prasad	PI to DEO	DEO Kuttanad
102	B Anilkumar	HAS	GHS Kakkazham
103	N prakash	Clerk	AEO Kottarakkara
104	Mallika E	AEO	Kottarakkara
105	Seema T K	HAS	GVHSS Narakkal
106	Anilkumar C	HST Maths	GHSS West Kallada
107	Ajikumar C	LDC	AEO Kundara
108	N P Madhulal	Sr. Clerk	AEO Kollam
109	Sasikumar B S	AEO	Kollam
110	R Devanarayanan	Sr. Clerk	DEO Alappuzha
111	Alphonsa A	Clerk	AEO Chavara
112	Mini L	AEO	Chathannoor
113	Shyni Habeeb	AEO	Chathannoor
114	Rema L	AEO	Kundara
115	G Arun	HST	GHSS Kollam
116	Vidyasagar K M	AEO	AEO Veliyanad
117	Radhakrishnan S	Sr. Clerk	AEO Mavelikkara
118	Ratheesh Babu M S	Clerk	AEO Karunagappally
119	Vimalkumar P	Clerk	AEO Veliyam
120	Sibin G S	Clerk	AEO Chathannoor