DMA1/158/2025-DMD G.O.(Rt)No.366/2025/DMD



GOVERNMENT OF KERALA

Abstract

Disaster Management Department-MSC ELSA 3 Ship wreckage in the Arabian Sea- Committee for the negotiation with the shipping company M/s MSC ELSA 3- constituted- orders issued.

DISASTER MANAGEMENT(A)DEPARTMENT

G.O.(Rt)No.366/2025/DMD Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, 30-05-2025

Read 1 GO(MS)11/2025/DMD dated 29/05/2025.

ORDER

As per Government Order read above, Government have declared the ship wreckage of ship M/s ELSA 3 in the Arabian sea 14.6 nautical miles off the Kerala coast as a State-Specific disaster, considering the potentially serious environmental, social, and economic impact of the ship wreckage.

In this regard, the engagement with M/s MSC is immediately required for institutional arrangement to create the financial package for use by the State Government for risk and damage assessment, management & remedial measures, including compensation. For the purpose of this consultation and negotiation with M/s MSC, Government hereby constitute a committee of the following officers.

- 1. Additional Chief Secretary, Finance Department Chairperson
- 2. Additional Chief Secretary, Local Self Government Department
- 3. Principal Secretary, Revenue & Disaster Management Department
- 4. Principal Secretary, Industries Department
- 5. Principal Secretary, Agriculture Department
- 6. Secretary, Environment Department
- 7. Member Secretary, KSDMA Convenor

DMA1/158/2025-DMD G.O.(Rt)No.366/2025/DMD

Member Secretary, KSDMA will be the single nodal point for the contact with the shipping company, M/s MSC.

This Committee shall also serve as the Oversight Committee which shall have oversight on the Committee formed as per GO (Rt) No. 365/2025/DMD dated 30-05-2025 for developing a rapid and long term assessment of damage and remediation measures.

(By order of the Governor)
TINKU BISWAL
PRINCIPAL SECRETARY

To:

Additional Chief Secretary, Home&Vigilance Department
Additional Chief Secretary, Finance department
Principal Secretary, Revenue& Disaster Management Department.
Principal Secretary, Industries Department
Principal Secretary, Agriculture Department.
Secretary, Environment Department.
Commissioner, Disaster Mangement
Member Secretary, KSDMA

Forwarded /By order

Section Officer