

Abstract

Disaster Management Department-Landslide in Meppadi Panchayath, Wayanad district –Disposal of dead bodies – Orders issued

G.O.(Rt)No.573/2024/DMD Dated,Thiruvananthapuram, 04-08-2 024

Read: 1. GO (P) No.1/2024/DMD dated: 02-08-2024.

- 2. GO (Ms) No.6/2023/DMD dated: 18-6-2023.
- 3. Letter No. DCWYD/2864/2024-DM3 dated: 04 -08-2024 of the District Collector, Wayanad.

<u>ORDER</u>

As per Govt. order read as 1^{s t} paper above, Meppadi Grama Panchayat including Kottapadi Village, Vellarmala Village, and Thrikaipetta Village of Vythiri Taluk of Wayanad district are notified as disaster affected. As per Govt. Order read as 2nd above, detailed procedures for the disposal of dead bodies and body parts are issued.

As per the letter read as 3rd paper above, the District Collector, Wayanad, has informed that 0.2611 hectares of land in Block No.32 resurvey No.244/1 of Vellarmala Village, Vythiri Taluk in the possession of Harrisons Malayalam Limited is identified for the burial of dead bodies. It is also reported that Harrisons Malayalam Limited has agreed to transfer the existing possession of the said parcel of land, without any compensation whatsoever, to District Collector Wayanad for using it as a burial ground for the disaster affected victims. Government have examined the matter in detail and hereby direct the Chairperson, District Disaster Management Authority & District Collector, Wayanad to make immediate necessary arrangements for the burial of the dead bodies in the land parcels identified, by invoking the powers under Sections 34 (g) of the Disaster Management Act, 2005, after taking possession of the said parcel of land, subject to the condition that this handing over of possession is without prejudice to any dispute and/or litigation between the parties concerned.

> (By order of the Governor) TINKU BISWAL PRINCIPAL SECRETARY

To:

Additional Chief Secretary, Home and Vigilance Department. Additional Chief Secretary, Health &Family Welfare Department. Principal Secretary, LSGD. State Police Chief, Kerala. Director General, Fire and Rescue Services. Commissioner, Land Revenue. Commissioner, Disaster Management. Director, Health Services. District Collectors, Wayanad. District Police Chief, Wayanad. Member Secretary, KSDMA. DDMA, Wayanad. DMO, Wayanad.

Forwarded /By order

Section Officer