Established as per Section 25 of DM Act, 2005 and Section 14 of KSDMR, 2007 vide Kerala Extraordinary Gazette S.R.O No. 264/2016 dated 5th March 2016. The DDMA in Kerala is a seven member body chaired by the District Collector and Co-Chaired by the District Panchayath President. The administrative matters related to the DDMA are carried out by the Natural Calamity section of the district collectorates. In Thiruvananthapuram, Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Malappuram, Kozhikode and Kannur the Chief Executive Officer of DDMA is Deputy Collector, Disaster Management. In Kollam, Kottayam, Idukki, Palakkad, Wayanad and Kasaragod the Chief Executive Officer of DDMA is Additional District Magistrate (ADM)/Deputy Collector (General). The first DDMA was formed vide S.R.O No. 977/2008 dated 22nd September 2008. All members of DDMA are ex-officio.