Vide Ltr. No. 24121/K1/2014/DMD dated 22-05-2014 all District Disaster Management Authorities were directed to create District Emergency Operations Centres (DEOC) with 24 X 7 staff of Revenue, Police (with Police VHF access) and Fire & Rescue Services. This was reiterated vide Ltr. No. 29426/K1/2015/DMD dated 02-06-2015 and Ltr. No. 26378/K1/2016/DMD dated 05-05-2016. The State Executive Committee, in its meeting held on 29th January 2015 approved the ESFP, 2015 vide which necessary minimum requirements for the creation of the DEOCs were formalized. The DEOCs functions in a 100 m2 floor area in close proximity to the Office of the District Collector in the respective collectorates. The DEOCs of Wayanad, Ernakulam and Idukki are linked to SEOC vide VSAT terminals funded under the National Disaster Management Services Project of NDMA. All DEOCs are equipped with Satellite Phones.

All DEOCs have one Hazard Analyst appointed.